Posted by: Marjolein Vegers | 24/08/2011

Sound(s) of Silence

Artists covering their favorite songs is not necessarily a bad thing. It can be quite refreshing, how they play the song in a different way. Also for the listeners, in many ways. The first time I heard Anna Ternheim sing her version of ‘China Girl’ (original by David Bowie) I finally understood the words of the lyrics.😉 Before then I never really could make out the words of the song and I never took the time to search for the lyrics either. But now I did, it interested me in a new way.
 
How an artist covers a well known song, also says something about the creativity of the artist him- or herself. It’s easy to play the song the way the original artist did. But I love it when they interpret the song in their own way and take it into another direction.
 
‘Sound of Silence’ by Simon and Garfunkel is one of those everlasting songs everyone knows. And it’s also covered several times by different artists.
 

 

 

 
I’ll spare you the Gregorian version
 
Here’s the original, which is still special in every way.
 


Leave a Reply

Categories

